Paola Rattu

Paola Rattu

“During my PhD, I sought out involvement in teaching, both out of interest and to have a way out once my thesis was finished.”

150321_Paola_Rattu.jpeg
Paola Rattu
obtained her PhD in Geography at the Faculty of Geosciences and Environment (FGSE) of UNIL in 2015. She has been working for the Swiss Confederation since 2020 as head of digital education at the Federal Office of Police (fedpol) and has created her own educational consulting company, Rattu Consulting. 

Thesis title (our translation): The Power of Water. A Foucauldian geo-history of urban water in Switzerland from 1850 to today.


GC: Can you introduce yourself in a few words?
PR: I did my PhD in Geography at UNIL from 2010 to 2015. After obtaining my PhD, I worked for nine months as a pedagogical engineer at the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences (SSP) of UNIL, then I joined the private sector. I am currently responsible for digital training at the Federal Office of Police (fedpol). 

Why did you choose to do a doctorate?
Because of the very challenging subject matter and because the PhD was a continuation of my career path. When I started my doctoral thesis as an assistant, I planned to work on a topic related to a research area I had studied during my Master's degree. 

Did you have a career plan during your PhD?
During my thesis, I was worried about my professional future. I found it complicated to envisage what to do next, given that post-doc positions are short-term contracts and that there are few of them in Switzerland. I was almost thirty years old at the end of my doctorate. I wondered if I really wanted to continue to evolve in the academic world in a precarious position for a number of years. My career plan was to give myself the freedom to choose what I wanted to do after the doctorate. In order to diversify the possible professional options after the thesis, I decided to undertake a Masters in learning and training technologies at the University of Geneva, in parallel with my PhD. I completed this training one year before obtaining my PhD. At the end of my thesis, I was thus able to choose to continue the academic path in geography or to embark on an extra-academic career in the field of educational technologies. I went for the latteroption. 

You are head of digital training at the Federal Office of Police. On the day of your defense, would you have imagined holding this position today?
No, not at all. I knew that I was going to start a position at UNIL in the field of educational technology a few days after my defense, but I had no idea how my career would evolve.

What are your main missions and how would you describe your role?
At fedpol, I am in charge of setting up a center of competence in digital training. In this role, I have to build digital training courses, such as e-learning modules, manage the different stages of projects and train employees in digital training. Alongside this role, I have developed my own consulting company. I offer support to companies in the creation and deployment of their training, including digital training (for example for new product launches or for human resources). 

What do you like the most in your job as a digital training expert?
What I like is the fact that I work with very different themes, help specialists share their knowledge and deliver a good learning experience to participants. I also like the creative aspect, the project management, and team management. 

What are the essential skills for this job?
Being open to a wide variety of subjects and being able to understand them quickly, knowing how to prioritize, beingcreative and being open to change. A structured approach and a certain sense of aesthetics are also important.

Tell us about the path that led you to your current position
After completing my PhD, I held the position of Pedagogical Engineer at UNIL. I had experience in the field of learning technologies: I had been an e-learning consultant for the college in children’s education (esede) and I had also developed two projects supported by UNIL's Pedagogical Innovation Fund (FIP) during my assistantship. One of the projects consisted in providing teaching sheets for the students of a Master's degree in Geography, allowing them to acquire basic knowledge in social sciences. During my PhD, I sought out involvement in teaching, both out of interest and to have a way out once the thesis was finished. 

The position at UNIL was interesting, but I quickly needed a new challenge. In 2016, I was hired by Phonak, a company that produces hearing aids, again as an educational engineer. I liked this job: I had the opportunity to build my first digital training courses for internal and especially external use, to work closely with business experts from a wide range of fields, to have contact with different markets and to work in a company with an international presence. After about a year, I was given additional responsibilities and was able to have my own team. After almost four years in this company, I wanted a new experience and so I applied for a job at fedpol. 

How do you respond to those who feel that a PhD is not relevant for a non-academic career?
I do not agree. During the PhD you acquire many skills that are valuable outside the academic world, such as knowing how to do research efficiently, how to process and structure information, how to communicate your results to an expert or non-expert audience, and how to develop a structure of thought. During the time you’re a doctoral candidate, you may not necessarily be aware of the skills you are developing. 

What advice would you give to a PhD or postdoc preparing for the next stage of his or her career?
The doctorate allows you to acquire a variety of skills. That said, it is important to keep in mind that the doctorate is not the end of the learning chapter. It’s important to continue to learn and train throughout your career, for example through internships and additional training during and after the doctorate. For my part, I am currently completing an MBA at Kennesaw State University, which broadens the range of tools and skills I can use on a daily basis, especially in supporting my private sector clients. 


Published on 15 March 2021

Follow us:      
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15

Paola Rattu

Paola Rattu

« Pendant mon doctorat, j’ai cherché à m’investir dans le domaine de l’enseignement à la fois par intérêt et pour avoir une porte de sortie une fois la thèse terminée. »

150321_Paola_Rattu.jpeg
Paola Rattu
 a obtenu son doctorat en géographie à la Faculté des géosciences et de l'environnement (FGSE) de l’UNIL en 2015. Elle travaille depuis 2020 à la Confédération en tant que responsable de la formation digitale à l’Office fédéral de la police (fedpol) et a fondé sa propre entreprise de conseil en formation, Rattu Consulting. 

Titre de la thèse : Le pouvoir e(s)t l'eau. Une géo-histoire foucauldienne de l'eau urbaine en Suisse entre 1850 et aujourd'hui.


GC : Pouvez-vous vous présenter en quelques mots ?
PR J’ai effectué mon doctorat en géographie à l’UNIL de 2010 à 2015. Après l’obtention de mon doctorat, j’ai travaillé neuf mois en tant qu’ingénieure pédagogique à la Faculté des sciences sociales et politiques (SSP) de l’UNIL, puis j’ai rejoint le secteur privé. Je suis actuellement responsable de la formation digitale à l’Office fédéral de la police (fedpol). 

Pourquoi avez-vous choisi d’effectuer un doctorat ?
En raison de la thématique très stimulante et parce que le doctorat s’inscrivait dans la continuité de mon parcours. Lorsque j’ai commencé ma thèse de doctorat en tant qu’assistante, il était prévu que je travaille sur un sujet qui était en lien avec un domaine de recherche que j’avais étudié pendant mon master. 

Aviez-vous un plan de carrière durant votre doctorat ?
Pendant ma thèse, j’avais des craintes au sujet de mon avenir professionnel. Je trouvais qu’il était compliqué d’envisager la suite sachant que les postes de post-doc sont des contrats précaires et qu’il y en a peu en Suisse. J’avais presque trente ans à la fin de mon doctorat. Je me demandais si j’avais réellement envie de continuer à évoluer dans le milieu académique avec un statut précaire pendant un certain nombre d’années. Mon plan de carrière a été de me laisser la liberté de choisir ce que je souhaitais faire après le doctorat. Afin de diversifier les options professionnelles possibles après la thèse, j’ai décidé d’entreprendre des études de master en technologies de l’apprentissage et de la formation à l’Université de Genève parallèlement à mon doctorat. J’ai terminé cette formation un an avant l’obtention de mon doctorat. A la fin de ma thèse, j’ai ainsi pu choisir de continuer la voie académique en géographie ou de me lancer dans une carrière extra-académique dans le domaine des technologies éducatives. J’ai choisi cette dernière option.  

Vous êtes responsable de la formation digitale à l’Office fédéral de la police. Le jour de votre soutenance, auriez-vous imaginé occuper ce poste aujourd’hui ?
Non, pas du tout. Je savais que j’allais commencer un poste à l’UNIL dans le domaine des technologies éducatives quelques jours après ma soutenance, mais je n’avais aucune idée de la façon dont ma carrière allait évoluer.

Quelles sont vos missions principales et comment décririez-vous votre rôle ?
Auprès de fedpol, je suis chargée de mettre en place un centre de compétences en formation digitale. Dans ce rôle, je dois construire des formations digitales, comme des modules e-learning, gérer les différentes étapes des projets et former des collaborateur·trice·s à la formation digitale. A côté de cet emploi, j’ai développé ma propre entreprise de conseil. Je propose un soutien aux entreprises dans la création et le déploiement de leurs formations, y inclus leurs formations digitales (par exemple pour les lancements de nouveaux produits ou pour les ressources humaines). 

Qu’aimez-vous le plus dans votre métier d’experte en formation digitale ?
Ce que j’aime, c’est le fait de pouvoir être en contact avec des thématiques très différentes, d’aider les spécialistes métiers à partager leurs connaissances et de délivrer une bonne expérience d’apprentissage aux participants. J’aime aussi l’aspect créatif, la gestion de projets et la gestion d’équipe. 

Quelles sont les compétences essentielles pour exercer ce métier ?
Etre ouvert à des sujets très variés et pouvoir les comprendre rapidement, savoir hiérarchiser les priorités, être créatif et être ouvert au changement. Une approche structurée et un certain sens de l’esthétique sont aussi importants.

Expliquez-nous le parcours qui vous a mené jusqu’à votre poste actuel ?
Après avoir terminé mon doctorat, j’ai occupé le poste d’ingénieure pédagogique à l’UNIL. J’avais de l’expérience dans le domaine des technologies d’apprentissage : j’avais été consultante e-learning pour l’Ecole supérieure en éducation de l’enfance (esede) et j’avais également développé deux projets soutenus par le Fonds d'innovation pédagogique (FIP) de l’UNIL durant mon assistanat. Un des projets consistait à mettre à disposition des étudiant·e·s de master en géographie des fiches pédagogiques leur permettant d’acquérir des bases en sciences sociales. Pendant mon doctorat, j’ai cherché à m’investir dans le domaine de l’enseignement à la fois par intérêt et pour avoir une porte de sortie une fois la thèse terminée.

Le poste à l’UNIL était intéressant, mais j’ai rapidement eu besoin d’un nouveau défi. En 2016, j’ai été engagée par Phonak, une entreprise qui produit des aides auditives, toujours en tant qu’ingénieure pédagogique. Ce poste m’a plu : j’ai eu la possibilité de construire mes premières formations digitales pour l’interne et surtout pour l’externe, de collaborer étroitement avec des expert·e·s métiers de domaines très variés, d’avoir un contact avec les différents marchés et de travailler dans une entreprise présente à l’international. Après environ un an, j’ai eu des responsabilités supplémentaires et j’ai pu avoir ma propre équipe. Après presque quatre ans dans cette entreprise, j’ai eu envie d’une nouvelle expérience et c’est ainsi que j’ai postulé chez fedpol.

 

Que répondez-vous à celles et ceux qui estiment que le doctorat n’est pas pertinent pour une carrière non-académique ?
Je ne suis pas d’accord. Pendant le doctorat on acquiert de nombreuses compétences qui sont précieuses hors du monde académique, comme par exemple savoir faire des recherches efficacement, traiter et structurer des informations, communiquer ses résultats à un public expert ou non-expert et développer une structure de pensée. Tant qu’on est doctorant·e, on ne se rend pas forcément compte des compétences que l’on développe.

Quel conseil donneriez-vous à un·e doctorant·e ou à un·e post-doc qui prépare la prochaine étape de sa carrière ?
Le doctorat permet d’acquérir des compétences variées. Cela dit, il ne faut pas perdre de vue que le doctorat ne marque pas la fin du chapitre de l’apprentissage. Il est important de continuer à apprendre et à se former tout au long de son parcours, par exemple en effectuant des stages en entreprise et des formations complémentaires pendant et après le doctorat. Pour ce qui me concerne, je suis en train de terminer un MBA auprès de la Kennesaw State University, ce qui élargit la palette d’outils et de compétences que je peux mobiliser au quotidien, en particulier dans le soutien à mes clients du secteur privé.


Portrait publié le 15 mars 2021

Suivez nous:      
Partagez:
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15